Never Stop Learning


Stewart Brand

You say, “Why should I learn these difficult technical skills when it’s all just gonna change? Let me know when it’s settled down.” Problem is, by the time you catch on that it’s *never* gonna settle down, you’re five years behind, with no real way to catch up, and you feel like a one-person Soviet Union. — Stewart Brand, on the WELL, about 1991

I found this quote on Kevin Kally’s Technium site. I love this. It reminds me why I’ve been a lifelong learner. Why I try new things – playing with responsive design CMS templates or taking a MOOC on data visualization. 

Kaypro-PC

Since I used my first work computer – we used a Kaypro similar to this to program multiple slide projector presentations in the days before PowerPoint and smartphones that could take HD video – I realized very quickly that I could never keep up, but I had to try. It’s been quite a ride.

I write about nutrition, health, food-related issues and spirituality at Whole Food-Whole Life.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

