Wood Boiler Time

It has been cold in the house the past week. This morning the thermostats showed 63 degrees upstairs. We have been holding off starting the wood boiler, but I don’t like burning oil either to take the chill off.

This afternoon when I came home, our cat was under our comforter and lying on the blanket underneath. She was telling us – I could use some heat, please. Looking at the forecast, the low is going to be 30 tomorrow night. So I spent the next few hours going thru the process of bringing it up to temperature – and dealing with the smoke in the basement because it got too hot too fast and started to smoke.

The other benefit we get from using the wood boiler is that it heats our hot water. I love turning off the electricity to the hot water heater and watching the electric bill go down.

I love the colors, and smells (like apple crisp in the oven) of fall. I hope you enjoy it wherever you are – and stay warm.

I write about nutrition, health, food-related issues and spirituality at Whole Food-Whole Life.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

