It was only a matter of time…


You Look Awfully Familiar…

Originally uploaded by prairiedog

until I had an encounter with a deer on the road. I had mine this evening.

I was driving along minding my own business – about 5 minutes from home when I felt a large object bump the side of the car. I look back in the rear view mirror and saw a deer jump up and head back into the woods. I hadn’t even seen him in my headlights.

I was near an intersection (for you non-Vermonters this was a State road intersecting a dirt road not exactly in the middle of nowhere, but close), so I stopped off to the side, turned on the flashers and got out to look. The deer had hit just below the door handle of the driver’s side of the car. There didn’t appear to be any other damage. So I went to get back in the car. Except the door handle didn’t work.

I knew the door was unlocked – our Toyota won’t let you lock the car if the key is in the ignition – but the impact had damaged the handle.

So here I am “locked” out of the car. The keys are in the ignition, the car is running, my cell phone is on the passenger seat – you get the picture.

I flagged someone down, but he didn’t have the tools to help. However, he knew that there is a guy with a garage down the dirt road so he left to let him know.

Ten minutes later the mechanic shows up and we get the passenger side door unlocked and I’m on my way.

Today’s reminder – always turn off the car and take the keys when you get out. You never know what’s going to happen.

Happy motoring – and watch out for those deer.

I write about nutrition, health, food-related issues and spirituality at Whole Food-Whole Life.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

